top of page

South West Governors Close Borders, Face Mask Now Compulsory.


South West Governors comprising of six states namely Ekiti, Lagos, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, Oyo have agreed that every resident in their states must from next week Friday, April 24, wear face masks as a measure to help tackle the spread of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The governors after a virtual meeting also decided to shut all entry points to their states as part of the strategy to stop the spread of COVID-19 in the zone.

In the statement signed by the Chairman of the South West Governors’ Forum and Ondo State governor Mr. Oluwarotimi Akeredolu, the governors said

“the entry points of our six states be closed forthwith to contain the spread of COVID-19 pandemic.“

He added that people involved in essential services or dealing in medicine, water and consumable items in particular traders and market men/women should endeavour to wear nose masks while outside plying their trade to minimise the spread of the deadly virus.

"The governors further agreed that wearing of nose masks will be made compulsory for everybody coming out of their homes effective from Friday 24 April, 2020 in their respective states.”

As at last night, Lagos had 306 cases; Osun 20; Oyo 16; Ogun 12; Ondo 3 and Ekiti 3.

Total number of confirmed cases in Nigeria 541, discharged 166, deaths 19.


bottom of page